Wednesday, November 4, 2015

Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books Of My Dreams

A week till my birthday. (Squee!) The obnoxious countdown will be over soon, though, trust me. I'll be twenty-one (sob) in a few days and life will soon return to normal, and Jenn Bennett's The Anatomical Shape of a Heart and Suzanne Young's Hotel Ruby have officially released today, so go grab them if you haven't already.
~
* Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.
~
HOW IT FEELS TO FLY - KATHRYN HOLMES

The movement is all that matters.

For as long as Samantha can remember, she’s wanted to be a professional ballerina. She’s lived for perfect pirouettes, sky-high extensions, and soaring leaps across the stage. Then her body betrayed her.

The change was gradual. Stealthy.

Failed diets. Disapproving looks. Whispers behind her back. The result: crippling anxiety about her appearance, which threatens to crush her dancing dreams entirely. On her dance teacher’s recommendation, Sam is sent to a summer treatment camp for teen artists and athletes who are struggling with mental and emotional obstacles. If she can make progress, she’ll be allowed to attend a crucial ballet intensive. But when asked to open up about her deepest insecurities, secret behaviors, and paralyzing fears to complete strangers, Sam can’t cope.

What I really need is a whole new body.

Sam forms an unlikely bond with Andrew, a former college football player who’s one of her camp counselors. As they grow closer, Andrew helps Sam see herself as he does—beautiful. But just as she starts to believe that there’s more between them than friendship, disappointing news from home sends her into a tailspin. With her future uncertain and her body against her, will Sam give in to the anxiety that imprisons her?

For fans of Center Stage, and with shades of The Breakfast Club, this is a compelling novel about body, mind, and the courage that it takes to become who you’re meant to be.

The synopsis made me cry. Shh.

But really. Is this cover stunning or is this cover stunning? Honestly, I'm in love with everything about this book and I haven't even read it yet. Shades of the Breakfast Club. A summer treatment camp. A ballerina and an ex-football player-made-counselor. Please gimme.

THE HATERS - JESSE ANDREWS

Inspired by the years he spent playing bass in a band himself, The Haters is Jesse Andrews’s road trip adventure about a trio of jazz-camp escapees who, against every realistic expectation, become a band.

For Wes and his best friend, Corey, jazz camp turns out to be lame. It’s pretty much all dudes talking in Jazz Voice. But then they jam with Ash, a charismatic girl with an unusual sound, and the three just click. It’s three and a half hours of pure musical magic, and Ash makes a decision: They need to hit the road. Because the road, not summer camp, is where bands get good. Before Wes and Corey know it, they’re in Ash’s SUV heading south, and The Haters Summer of Hate Tour has begun.

In his second novel, Andrews again brings his brilliant and distinctive voice to YA, in the perfect book for music lovers, fans of The Commitments and High Fidelity, or anyone who has ever loved—and hated—a song or a band. This witty, funny coming-of-age novel is contemporary fiction at its best.  

I can only associate this book with one GIF.


Work with me, people. WORK WITH ME.

Love the concept, of course. How can you not? A road trip of jazz-camp kids and literally, the band's tour is called "Summer Of Hate." I need this like red velvet ice cream.

SHUFFLE, REPEAT - JEN KLEIN

When Harry Met Sally for YA romance readers. This opposites-attract love story is perfect for fans of Huntley Fitzpatrick, Stephanie Perkins, and Jenny Han.
 
June wants high school to end and real life to begin. Oliver is soaking up senior year’s glory days. They could have coasted through high school, knowing about—but not really knowing—each other.

Except that their moms have arranged for Oliver to drive June to school. Every. Single. Day.

Suddenly these two opposites are fighting about music, life . . . pretty much everything. But love is unpredictable. When promises—and hearts—get broken, Oliver and June must figure out what really matters. And then fight for it.

Seriously, Harry Met Sally for the YA crowd. You certainly had me at that. Also, their moms force them to pretty much hangout and I find that the cutest thing. Just please gimme all of 2016 YA, okay?

BREAKER - KAT ELLIS

Kyle Henry has a new name, a new school, and a new life—one without the shadow of the Bonebreaker hanging over him. It's been a year since his serial killer father's execution, and it finally looks like things are turning around for Kyle.

Until he recognizes the girl sitting in the back row in homeroom.

Naomi Steadman is immediately intrigued by Killdeer Academy's newcomer. She does not know he is the son of the man who murdered her mother. What she does know is she and Kyle have a connection with each other—and a spark that Kyle continues to back away from.

Soon after Kyle’s arrival, the death count on campus starts to rise. Someone is set on finishing what the Bonebreaker started, and murdering ghosts from the past may be the only thing that can stop the spree.

Told in alternating viewpoints, Kat Ellis’s tale of mystery and horror is full of broken bonds and new beginnings.

Whoa. Whoa. This is everything. I can't handle it. I will, anyway. Ha. Gaze into that owl gaze, why don't cha? Is it not the eeriest thing you've ever seen? If you don't preorder it for the cover, preorder for that hella thriller-y premise.

OUTRUN THE MOON - STACEY LEE

From the author of the critically acclaimed Under a Painted Sky, an unforgettable story of determination set against a backdrop of devastating tragedy. Perfect for fans of Code Name Verity.

San Francisco, 1906: Fifteen-year-old Mercy Wong is determined to break from the poverty in Chinatown, and an education at St. Clare’s School for Girls is her best hope. Although St. Clare’s is off-limits to all but the wealthiest white girls, Mercy gains admittance through a mix of cunning and a little bribery, only to discover that getting in was the easiest part. Not to be undone by a bunch of spoiled heiresses, Mercy stands strong—until disaster strikes.

On April 18, an historic earthquake rocks San Francisco, destroying Mercy’s home and school. With martial law in effect, she is forced to wait with her classmates for their families in a temporary park encampment. Mercy can't sit by while they wait for the Army to bring help. Fires might rage, and the city may be in shambles, yet Mercy still has the 'bossy' cheeks that mark her as someone who gets things done. But what can one teenaged girl do to heal so many suffering in her broken city?

Stacey Lee can do no wrong, honestly. Under The Painted Sky was a fabulous, diverse masterpiece and I will obviously be awaiting whatever she has planned next. Plus, is that cover not gorgeous or what? Literally, I can stare at it for hours.

HOW TO MAKEOUT - BRIANNA SHRUM
A teen starts an anonymous How-To blog and promises to become an expert on everything she writes about even after the blog and her life begin to spin out of control, forcing her to decide if her glamorous new life is worth giving up everything (and everyone) in her old one.

Absolutely adorable. Also, super relatable. I feel like I can almost relate but I don't wanna jump to it but I'm infatuated with the concept and its title. AND WE NEED A COVER ASAP.

P.S: That title is EVERYTHING.

DOLL SOLDIERS - SARAH RAUGHLEY
SAILOR MOON WAS PART OF THE PITCH. OMG. S.O.S.: FELLOW SAILOR MOON GEEKS. I AM SCREECHING. THIS IS MY CALLING.

THE BELLES - DHONIELLE CLAYTON
Focuses on a group of girls who can manipulate beauty, and the dangerous journey of the one belle who uncovers a hidden world of secrets, lies, and cruelty when she is chosen to be the personal belle of the next Queen.

Dare I say, I thought murderous Disney princesses when I heard the synopsis? Ironically, Disney is publishing this, but still. I'm feeling major Scream Queens vibes and I so, so, so need this.

GOOD GIRLS DON'T LIE - ALEXANDRA DIAZ
A realistic coming-of-age story starring good girl Josie Figueroa.

All my love, of course. I love the diverse stories more than anything and everything. A Mexican-American Juno and I am so ready.

CAMP SO AND SO - MARY MCCOY
A YA mystery with a supernatural twist pitched as Cabin in the Woods meets Wet Hot American Summer with the interlocking mystery structure of The Westing Game. At a summer camp for girls, each cabin is trapped into acting out a warped version of a different classic camp story; they must find out how their stories connect and who is pulling the strings.

WET HOT AMERICAN SUMMER. HELLO. HOLA. BONJOUR. Only problem? It releases in 2017. I cannot deal. Please get me a time-machine, so I can speed-travel to 2017, grab all the books on my wishlist from that year and zoom back to the present. Thanks.
~

2 comments:

  1. What a great list of books Peach! I actually haven't heard of any of them, but you've reminded me to pick up Under the Painted Sky!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know! There are so many upcoming greats! Under The Painted Sky is definitely one of the finer ones, too! It's so mesmerizing and sweetly-written! I definitely hope you get the chance to read it & I'll be happily awaiting your review! :D

      Delete