Skip to main content

DNF Review: I'll Give You The Sun

Jandy Nelson - I'll Give You The Sun
Published: September 14, 2014 by Dial Books
Pages: 371
Genres: Contemporary, LGBTQIA, Young Adult
Find on: Amazon, Goodreads, Book Depository
Rating: DNF. DNF. DNF.

A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah's story to tell. The later years are Jude's. What the twins don't realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.

~
Guess I'm the odd one out again.

So I brought this at Target because I thought the new paperback was beautiful. Plus, I saw a few reviews giving such praise, I was like, "Ooh. Gimme!"

But when I started...
Okay. Overstatement. Given most things, it started off normal. Noah and Jude are twins. Noah is mostly friendless and clings to his sister, Jude, while Jude is a beaming social butterfly, who prefers to not have her antisocial brother following after her like a needy toddler.

In retrospect, it's a fantastic storyline. The writing style, though, bothered me. No, I mean, really bothered me.

Whenever someone would say something mildly , "I barfed bright blue/green/magenta barf" was used. It took me, like, an hour to realize this was meant metaphorically.

Also: the intolerable subject changing. The family would be trying to raise Grandma's spirit from the dead to the dinner table one second, then Noah's father would be yelling at the neighbor's batshit parrot, and then, their parents would start arguing for no reason whatsoever. And when we reached Jude's POV, she "hearing" Grandma Sweetwine's voice and listening to her rants about pickles.

Yeah. Not kidding.
"Me too - kosher dills, big fat juicy ones. Mmm. Mmm. Mmm," whispers Grandma Sweetwine in my head.
This book was random and messy. The metaphors were irritable. If it solely concentrated on the storyline I expected, I would've probably been able to finish it. Jude and Noah both have excellent potential. Maybe I'll return to finish it someday. For now, not a recommend.
~

Comments

  1. Aw, I am so sorry you didn't like it! I did, but I will absolutely agree that I didn't love it at first- I was kind of confused myself and did a lot of "what is wrong with these people?" asking. But for me, I really got into it- it was definitely more character driven than plot driven. So sorry that it didn't work for you though- I think the writing is probably one of those hit or miss kind of things, just depending on your taste!
    Shannon @ It Starts At Midnight

    ReplyDelete
  2. Yeah, I totally agree! Jude and Noah were so confusing and the writing was so messy, but I'm still open to checking out Jandy's other books!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Blog Tour Review: Christmas In London

Anita Hughes - Christmas In London Published: October 3, 2017 by St. Martin's Griffin
Genres: Adult, Realistic Fiction, Romance
Pages: 288
Source: Publisher
Find on: Amazon, Book Depository, Goodreads
Rating: 4.5/5

A charming, glamourous love story set at Claridge's in London during the magical week before Christmas starring a sweet NYC baker and the Cooking Channel Producer who could change her life.

It’s a week before Christmas and Louisa Graham is working twelve hour shifts at a bakery on Manhattan's Lower East Side. When a young cooking show assistant comes in from the rain and begs to buy all the cinnamon rolls on her tray, she doesn’t know what to do. Louisa is just the baker, and they aren't hers to sell. But the show burned the rolls they were supposed to film that day, so she agrees.

The next morning, Louisa finds out that her cinnamon rolls were a hit, but the star of the show was allergic, and the whole crew is supposed to leave for London that afternoon. They want L…

Review: The Inconceivable Life of Quinn

Marianna Baer - The Inconceivable Life of Quinn Expected publication: April 4, 2017 by Amulet Books
Genres: Contemporary, Magical Realism, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Find on: Amazon, Book Depository, Goodreads
Rating: 2.5/5

Quinn Cutler is sixteen and the daughter of a high-profile Brooklyn politician. She’s also pregnant, a crisis made infinitely more shocking by the fact that she has no memory of ever having sex. Before Quinn can solve this deeply troubling mystery, her story becomes public. Rumors spread, jeopardizing her reputation, her relationship with a boyfriend she adores, and her father’s campaign for Congress. Religious fanatics gather at the Cutlers’ home, believing Quinn is a virgin, pregnant with the next messiah. Quinn’s desperate search for answers uncovers lies and family secrets—strange, possibly supernatural ones. Might she, in fact, be a virgin?

Review: Antisocial

Jillian Blake - Antisocial Published: May 16, 2017 by Delacorte Press
Genres: Contemporary, Thriller, Romance, Young ADult
Pages: 256
Source: NetGalley
Find on: Amazon, Book Depository, Goodreads
Rating: 2/5

Alexandria Prep is about to be exposed.

Senior spring was supposed to mean sleeping through class and partying with friends. But for Anna Soler, it’s going to be a lonely road. She’s just been dumped by her perfect basketball star boyfriend—with no explanation. Anna’s closest friends, the real ones she abandoned while dating him, are ignoring her. The endearing boy she’s always had a complicated friendship with is almost too sympathetic.

But suddenly Anna isn’t the only one whose life has been upended. Someone is determined to knock the kings and queens of the school off their thrones: one by one, their phones get hacked and their personal messages and photos are leaked. At first it’s funny—people love watching the dirty private lives of those they envy become all too public.

Then the hack…