Skip to main content

Review: Arrows

Melissa Gorzelanczyk - Arrows
Expected publication: January 26, 2016 by Delacorte Press
Pages: 256
Genres: Contemporary, Magical Realism, Retellings, Young Adult
Find on: Amazon, Goodreads, Book Depository
Rating: 3/5

A modern cupid story set in present-day Wisconsin combining the fantastical elements of Greek mythology with the contemporary drama of MTV's Teen Mom.

People don’t understand love. If they did, they’d get why dance prodigy Karma Clark just can’t say goodbye to her boyfriend, Danny. No matter what he says or does or how he hurts her, she can’t stay angry with him . . . and can’t stop loving him. But there’s a reason why Karma is helpless to break things off: she’s been shot with a love arrow.

Aaryn, son of Cupid, was supposed to shoot both Karma and Danny but found out too late that the other arrow in his pack was useless. And with that, Karma’s life changed forever. One pregnancy confirmed. One ballet scholarship lost. And dream after dream tossed to the wind.

A clueless Karma doesn’t know that her toxic relationship is Aaryn’s fault . . . but he’s going to get a chance to make things right. He’s here to convince Danny to man up and be there for Karma. But what if this god from Mount Olympus finds himself falling in love with a beautiful dancer from Wisconsin who can never love him in return?

This fast-paced debut novel explores the internal & external conflicts of a girl who finds herself inexplicably drawn to a boy who seemingly doesn't reciprocate her  feelings, touching on the issues of love, sex and responsibility, with a heroine struggling to control her destiny--perfect for fans of Katie McGarry's novels and MTV’s 16 and Pregnant.
WARNING: Beware the spoilers. They may be deemed potentially uncool.
 Love shouldn't hurt.

I'd been massively, crazily, obsessively looking forward to this. To the point if someone scored me an ARC, I would've given them my refrigerator. So when I was lucky enough to score an ARC, I cried. (Actually, I didn't. I was very happy, though.)

Aaryn, the son of Cupid, has one job. To seal the romantic fate of Karma and Danny with a clean shot of his arrow. But when his arrow only effects Karma, he's stricken and terrified. He and his partner-in-crime, Phoebe, scramble off without awaiting the ill-fated results, but the damage has been done.

A year later, Aaryn is sent back to Earth to correct his dastardly mistake. Danny and Karma are still together but their relationship has become rocky. Now, however, they have a daughter named Nell. Karma had been impregnated by the misfiring of his arrow and Aaryn's next job is to convince Danny to propose.

To be honest, I liked Danny and Karma. Their relationship. He stayed with her long enough to have their child, so I think that says something amongst most teen boys. I think Danny would've grown out of his immature phase. Karma was patient with him.

What I didn't like was Aaryn. I wish this remained strictly Karma's story. Or maybe Danny and Karma's, instead. Aaryn was so gross. If you're someone's wingman (or wingwoman, whatever), you don't try and hook up with the person you're attempting to set up. He is Cupid. That is a violation. Refrain from your thirst.

And Karma didn't even like him. Really, I think she only liked his companionship. She was dodging all his advances, reminding him about Danny. As nauseating as Danny was most of the time, he didn't deserve any of the defamation, especially from Aaryn.

The ending was so random. Karma, who cried and whined and yearned for Danny, went from "Oh, Danny," to "You know what? I'm my own woman. I don't need you." in the span of two minutes. Like, WTF? Okay, girl, that's nice. I feel you. But did it have to take the whole book to find that conclusion? Then, she ran to Aaryn and kissed him and the WTFs continued.

Nonetheless, there's still a lot to love. Karma is a great mother to her baby bean, Nell. Her whole family is supportive and they comfortably allow her to balance her dance career and motherhood fairly. The writing is genuine. Striking. A debut not to miss!


  1. Greek mythology and contemporary drama really should go together more often haha. Shame about the messy ending, but I'm glad you found things to like overall.

    1. lollll. I know, right? It's definitely something!

  2. Hahahah this sounds really confusing. I did really want to read this, but mainly because it is mythology. I'm not sure if I would be interested in the drama, however. AND WHY would Aaryn shoot an arrow at both Karma and Danny? WHY. Questions questions.

    I'm glad you liked this book overall Peach!

    1. IKR???? The thing about Aaryn shooting both Danny and Karma was that he'd permanently lock their romance with only his arrow, but it was handled so messy. He should've never interfered. You should still check it out! It's so wild! hahah.


Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Review: Antisocial

Jillian Blake - Antisocial Published: May 16, 2017 by Delacorte Press
Genres: Contemporary, Thriller, Romance, Young ADult
Pages: 256
Source: NetGalley
Find on: Amazon, Book Depository, Goodreads
Rating: 2/5

Alexandria Prep is about to be exposed.

Senior spring was supposed to mean sleeping through class and partying with friends. But for Anna Soler, it’s going to be a lonely road. She’s just been dumped by her perfect basketball star boyfriend—with no explanation. Anna’s closest friends, the real ones she abandoned while dating him, are ignoring her. The endearing boy she’s always had a complicated friendship with is almost too sympathetic.

But suddenly Anna isn’t the only one whose life has been upended. Someone is determined to knock the kings and queens of the school off their thrones: one by one, their phones get hacked and their personal messages and photos are leaked. At first it’s funny—people love watching the dirty private lives of those they envy become all too public.

Then the hack…

Review: Glitter

Aprilynne Pike - Glitter Published: October 25, 2016 by Random House Books for Young Readers
Genres: Fantasy, Historical Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Find on: Amazon, Book Depository, Goodreads
Rating: 2/5

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Aprilynne Pike comes a truly original new novel—Breaking Bad meets Marie Antoinette in a near-future world where the residents of Versailles live like it’s the eighteenth century and an almost-queen turns to drug dealing to save her own life.

Outside the palace of Versailles, it’s modern day. Inside, the people dress, eat, and act like it’s the eighteenth century—with the added bonus of technology to make court life lavish, privileged, and frivolous. The palace has every indulgence, but for one pretty young thing, it’s about to become a very beautiful prison.

When Danica witnesses an act of murder by the young king, her mother makes a cruel power play . . . blackmailing the king into making Dani his queen. When she turns eighteen, Dani will mar…

Blog Tour Review: Christmas In London

Anita Hughes - Christmas In London Published: October 3, 2017 by St. Martin's Griffin
Genres: Adult, Realistic Fiction, Romance
Pages: 288
Source: Publisher
Find on: Amazon, Book Depository, Goodreads
Rating: 4.5/5

A charming, glamourous love story set at Claridge's in London during the magical week before Christmas starring a sweet NYC baker and the Cooking Channel Producer who could change her life.

It’s a week before Christmas and Louisa Graham is working twelve hour shifts at a bakery on Manhattan's Lower East Side. When a young cooking show assistant comes in from the rain and begs to buy all the cinnamon rolls on her tray, she doesn’t know what to do. Louisa is just the baker, and they aren't hers to sell. But the show burned the rolls they were supposed to film that day, so she agrees.

The next morning, Louisa finds out that her cinnamon rolls were a hit, but the star of the show was allergic, and the whole crew is supposed to leave for London that afternoon. They want L…