Review: Arrows

Melissa Gorzelanczyk - Arrows
Expected publication: January 26, 2016 by Delacorte Press
Pages: 256
Genres: Contemporary, Magical Realism, Retellings, Young Adult
Find on: Amazon, Goodreads, Book Depository
Rating: 3/5

A modern cupid story set in present-day Wisconsin combining the fantastical elements of Greek mythology with the contemporary drama of MTV's Teen Mom.

People don’t understand love. If they did, they’d get why dance prodigy Karma Clark just can’t say goodbye to her boyfriend, Danny. No matter what he says or does or how he hurts her, she can’t stay angry with him . . . and can’t stop loving him. But there’s a reason why Karma is helpless to break things off: she’s been shot with a love arrow.

Aaryn, son of Cupid, was supposed to shoot both Karma and Danny but found out too late that the other arrow in his pack was useless. And with that, Karma’s life changed forever. One pregnancy confirmed. One ballet scholarship lost. And dream after dream tossed to the wind.

A clueless Karma doesn’t know that her toxic relationship is Aaryn’s fault . . . but he’s going to get a chance to make things right. He’s here to convince Danny to man up and be there for Karma. But what if this god from Mount Olympus finds himself falling in love with a beautiful dancer from Wisconsin who can never love him in return?

This fast-paced debut novel explores the internal & external conflicts of a girl who finds herself inexplicably drawn to a boy who seemingly doesn't reciprocate her  feelings, touching on the issues of love, sex and responsibility, with a heroine struggling to control her destiny--perfect for fans of Katie McGarry's novels and MTV’s 16 and Pregnant.
~
WARNING: Beware the spoilers. They may be deemed potentially uncool.
~
 Love shouldn't hurt.

I'd been massively, crazily, obsessively looking forward to this. To the point if someone scored me an ARC, I would've given them my refrigerator. So when I was lucky enough to score an ARC, I cried. (Actually, I didn't. I was very happy, though.)

Aaryn, the son of Cupid, has one job. To seal the romantic fate of Karma and Danny with a clean shot of his arrow. But when his arrow only effects Karma, he's stricken and terrified. He and his partner-in-crime, Phoebe, scramble off without awaiting the ill-fated results, but the damage has been done.

A year later, Aaryn is sent back to Earth to correct his dastardly mistake. Danny and Karma are still together but their relationship has become rocky. Now, however, they have a daughter named Nell. Karma had been impregnated by the misfiring of his arrow and Aaryn's next job is to convince Danny to propose.

To be honest, I liked Danny and Karma. Their relationship. He stayed with her long enough to have their child, so I think that says something amongst most teen boys. I think Danny would've grown out of his immature phase. Karma was patient with him.

What I didn't like was Aaryn. I wish this remained strictly Karma's story. Or maybe Danny and Karma's, instead. Aaryn was so gross. If you're someone's wingman (or wingwoman, whatever), you don't try and hook up with the person you're attempting to set up. He is Cupid. That is a violation. Refrain from your thirst.

And Karma didn't even like him. Really, I think she only liked his companionship. She was dodging all his advances, reminding him about Danny. As nauseating as Danny was most of the time, he didn't deserve any of the defamation, especially from Aaryn.

The ending was so random. Karma, who cried and whined and yearned for Danny, went from "Oh, Danny," to "You know what? I'm my own woman. I don't need you." in the span of two minutes. Like, WTF? Okay, girl, that's nice. I feel you. But did it have to take the whole book to find that conclusion? Then, she ran to Aaryn and kissed him and the WTFs continued.

Nonetheless, there's still a lot to love. Karma is a great mother to her baby bean, Nell. Her whole family is supportive and they comfortably allow her to balance her dance career and motherhood fairly. The writing is genuine. Striking. A debut not to miss!
~

Comments

  1. Greek mythology and contemporary drama really should go together more often haha. Shame about the messy ending, but I'm glad you found things to like overall.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. lollll. I know, right? It's definitely something!

      Delete
  2. Hahahah this sounds really confusing. I did really want to read this, but mainly because it is mythology. I'm not sure if I would be interested in the drama, however. AND WHY would Aaryn shoot an arrow at both Karma and Danny? WHY. Questions questions.

    I'm glad you liked this book overall Peach!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. IKR???? The thing about Aaryn shooting both Danny and Karma was that he'd permanently lock their romance with only his arrow, but it was handled so messy. He should've never interfered. You should still check it out! It's so wild! hahah.

      Delete

Post a Comment