Skip to main content

Review: Lucky Few

Kathryn Ormsbee - Lucky Few
Expected publication: June 7, 2016 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Genres: Contemporary, Realistic Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Find on: Amazon, Book Depository, Goodreads
Rating: 4/5

In the tradition of Me and Earl and the Dying Girl comes a hilarious, madcap, and quirky debut novel about a group of oddball teens struggling to find themselves when facing their own mortality.

The life of homeschooler Stevie Hart gets all shook up when she meets a strange boy, Max, who survived a freak near-fatal accident and is now obsessed with death. He enlists her and her best friend, Sanger, to help him complete his absurd “23 Ways to Fake My Death Without Dying” checklist. What starts off as fun begins spiraling downward when Stevie’s diabetes sabotages her fumbling romance with Max, Sanger announces she’s moving out of state, and then death—real death—cuts close to home.
I was hesitant in snatching this because the whole idea of "a list of fake deaths" had me on the fritz, but it kinda works.

Stevie Nicks Hart is homeschooled and has been sheltered practically her whole life. Her only friend is an amazing girl with two moms, Sanger. But when a boy covered in blood is found, collapsed in her front lawn, she appropriately freaks the eff out and tries to help him. However, when he simply climbs to his feet and brushes himself off, she's couldn't be less thrown. Mind you, this is not a dystopian.

This freak turns out to be Max Garza. After a tragic accident, which has left him missing a few fingers and traumatized into the next century, he decides on the Fake Death list to help qualm his fear. Sanger is all for it, but Stevie isn't. With good reason, obviously.

Eventually, Stevie stops being such a wuss and joins her friends in their creepy adventure, and I honestly don't have much of a problem with this novel. It's so hilarious and I hadn't even expected it to be. Sanger absolutely makes the novel. I burst into laughter numerous times. So I'm glad I didn't read this in public.

"I took him to a strip club."
I said nothing.
"Kidding," he said. "Kidding. We went to Zilker Park. We walked around. We fed ducks."
"Strip club was more believable."
"I'm serious, Stevie. We fucking fed ducks. I'm not even joking. We brought a loaf at Central Market, and we fed the ducks. Ducks are crazy. Like, vicious, too. One of them nearly took a bite out of the other one's wing trying to get to the bread first. Canniducks." 

Something I found odd, though. While they were helping Max achieve all his "fake deaths" neighbors never questioned it. No one ran out of their house or called the police. Nothing. And Max and Stevie, who start off as weird friends, then abruptly jump into a relationship. It's not exactly instalove, but there's no such thing as a "fake kiss."

I was endlessly infatuated with Sanger and Stevie's friendship. A few reviewers made it sound like the book ends tragically, but it doesn't. I think it's predictable. But honestly, I do like the ending. I wish Joel and Sanger received a bit of a happier ending. He should've kissed her, at least. Otherwise, it's mostly cute. I think this'll be a favorite of Summer 2016. Texas is shone beautifully, and the cast is diverse and empowering.



  1. I actually won an ARC of this one so I'm excited to read it! I definitely like a book that can make me laugh out loud ;) And I'm very much looking forward to the Fake My Death Checklist!

    1. Omg yay! It's such a fantastic read, so I hope you love it! Max is diehard adorable, too! :D


Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Review: Antisocial

Jillian Blake - Antisocial Published: May 16, 2017 by Delacorte Press
Genres: Contemporary, Thriller, Romance, Young ADult
Pages: 256
Source: NetGalley
Find on: Amazon, Book Depository, Goodreads
Rating: 2/5

Alexandria Prep is about to be exposed.

Senior spring was supposed to mean sleeping through class and partying with friends. But for Anna Soler, it’s going to be a lonely road. She’s just been dumped by her perfect basketball star boyfriend—with no explanation. Anna’s closest friends, the real ones she abandoned while dating him, are ignoring her. The endearing boy she’s always had a complicated friendship with is almost too sympathetic.

But suddenly Anna isn’t the only one whose life has been upended. Someone is determined to knock the kings and queens of the school off their thrones: one by one, their phones get hacked and their personal messages and photos are leaked. At first it’s funny—people love watching the dirty private lives of those they envy become all too public.

Then the hack…

Review: Glitter

Aprilynne Pike - Glitter Published: October 25, 2016 by Random House Books for Young Readers
Genres: Fantasy, Historical Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Find on: Amazon, Book Depository, Goodreads
Rating: 2/5

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Aprilynne Pike comes a truly original new novel—Breaking Bad meets Marie Antoinette in a near-future world where the residents of Versailles live like it’s the eighteenth century and an almost-queen turns to drug dealing to save her own life.

Outside the palace of Versailles, it’s modern day. Inside, the people dress, eat, and act like it’s the eighteenth century—with the added bonus of technology to make court life lavish, privileged, and frivolous. The palace has every indulgence, but for one pretty young thing, it’s about to become a very beautiful prison.

When Danica witnesses an act of murder by the young king, her mother makes a cruel power play . . . blackmailing the king into making Dani his queen. When she turns eighteen, Dani will mar…

Blog Tour Review: Christmas In London

Anita Hughes - Christmas In London Published: October 3, 2017 by St. Martin's Griffin
Genres: Adult, Realistic Fiction, Romance
Pages: 288
Source: Publisher
Find on: Amazon, Book Depository, Goodreads
Rating: 4.5/5

A charming, glamourous love story set at Claridge's in London during the magical week before Christmas starring a sweet NYC baker and the Cooking Channel Producer who could change her life.

It’s a week before Christmas and Louisa Graham is working twelve hour shifts at a bakery on Manhattan's Lower East Side. When a young cooking show assistant comes in from the rain and begs to buy all the cinnamon rolls on her tray, she doesn’t know what to do. Louisa is just the baker, and they aren't hers to sell. But the show burned the rolls they were supposed to film that day, so she agrees.

The next morning, Louisa finds out that her cinnamon rolls were a hit, but the star of the show was allergic, and the whole crew is supposed to leave for London that afternoon. They want L…