Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts from March, 2017

Blog Tour Review: A Crown Of Wishes (+ The Audiobook!)

Reviews, Just Add Water (Or Salt, Whichever You Prefer): More Salt Than Sugar

Review: Piecing Me Together

Renรฉe Watson - Piecing Me Together Published: February 14, 2017 by Bloomsbury
Genres: Realistic Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 272
Find on: Amazon, Book Depository, Goodreads
Rating: 5/5 (๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’›๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’˜๐Ÿ’™๐Ÿ’š) (It broke the Heart-O-Meter, clearly.)

A timely and powerful story about a teen girl from a poor neighborhood striving for success, from acclaimed author Renรฉe Watson.

Jade believes she must get out of her neighborhood if she’s ever going to succeed. Her mother says she has to take every opportunity. She has. She accepted a scholarship to a mostly-white private school and even Saturday morning test prep opportunities. But some opportunities feel more demeaning than helpful. Like an invitation to join Women to Women, a mentorship program for “at-risk” girls. Except really, it’s for black girls. From “bad” neighborhoods.

But Jade doesn’t need support. And just because her mentor is black doesn’t mean she understands Jade. And maybe there are some things Jade could show these successful women about …

Review: Bad Blood

Demetria Lunetta - Bad Blood Published: March 17, 2017 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Genres: Fantasy, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 272
Find on: Amazon, Book Depository, Goodreads
Source: NetGalley
Rating: 1.5/5

A girl discovers a family secret and a past full of magic that could both save her and put her in mortal danger in this suspenseful novel that’s perfect for fans of Katie Alender and Natasha Preston.

All sixteen-year-old Heather MacNair wants is to feel normal, to shed the intense paranoia she’s worn all year like a scratchy sweater. After her compulsion to self-harm came to light, Heather was kept under her doctor’s watchful eye. Her family thinks she’s better—and there’s nothing she wants more than for that to be true. She still can’t believe she’s allowed to spend her summer vacation as she always does: at her aunt’s home in Scotland, where she has lots of happy memories. Far away from all her problems save one: she can’t stop carving the Celtic knot that haunts her dreams in…

DNF Alert: Done Dirt Cheap

Sarah Nicole Lemon - Done Dirt Cheap Published: March 7, 2017 by Amulet Books
Genres: Realistic Fiction, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Source: NetGalley
Find on: Amazon, Book Depository, Goodreads
Rating: DNF ๐Ÿ–“

Tourmaline Harris’s life hit pause at fifteen, when her mom went to prison because of Tourmaline’s unintentionally damning testimony. But at eighteen, her home life is stable, and she has a strong relationship with her father, the president of a local biker club known as the Wardens.

Virginia Campbell’s life hit fast-forward at fifteen, when her mom “sold” her into the services of a local lawyer: a man for whom the law is merely a suggestion. When Hazard sets his sights on dismantling the Wardens, he sends in Virginia, who has every intention of selling out the club—and Tourmaline. But the two girls are stronger than the circumstances that brought them together, and their resilience defines the friendship at the heart of this powerful debut novel.

Review: You're Welcome, Universe

Whitney Gardner - You're Welcome, Universe Expected publication: March 7, 2017 Knopf Books for Young Readers
Genres: Realistic Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 304
Find on:Amazon, Book Depository, Goodreads
Rating: 4/5

A vibrant, edgy, fresh new YA voice for fans of More Happy Than Not and Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, packed with interior graffiti.

When Julia finds a slur about her best friend scrawled across the back of the Kingston School for the Deaf, she covers it up with a beautiful (albeit illegal) graffiti mural.

Her supposed best friend snitches, the principal expels her, and her two mothers set Julia up with a one-way ticket to a “mainstream” school in the suburbs, where she’s treated like an outcast as the only deaf student. The last thing she has left is her art, and not even Banksy himself could convince her to give that up.

Out in the ’burbs, Julia paints anywhere she can, eager to claim some turf of her own. But Julia soon learns that she might not be the only vandal in town…