Skip to main content

Review: Bad Blood

Demetria Lunetta - Bad Blood
Published: March 17, 2017 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Genres: Fantasy, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 272
Find on: Amazon, Book Depository, Goodreads
Source: NetGalley
Rating: 1.5/5

A girl discovers a family secret and a past full of magic that could both save her and put her in mortal danger in this suspenseful novel that’s perfect for fans of Katie Alender and Natasha Preston.

All sixteen-year-old Heather MacNair wants is to feel normal, to shed the intense paranoia she’s worn all year like a scratchy sweater. After her compulsion to self-harm came to light, Heather was kept under her doctor’s watchful eye. Her family thinks she’s better—and there’s nothing she wants more than for that to be true. She still can’t believe she’s allowed to spend her summer vacation as she always does: at her aunt’s home in Scotland, where she has lots of happy memories. Far away from all her problems save one: she can’t stop carving the Celtic knot that haunts her dreams into her skin.

Good friends and boys with Scottish accents can cure almost anything…except nightmares. Heather can’t stop dreaming about two sisters from centuries ago, twins Prudence and Primrose, who somehow seem tied to her own life. Their presence lurks just beneath the surface of her consciousness, sending ripples through what should be a peaceful summer. The twins might hold the key to putting Heather’s soul at rest…or they could slice her future deeper than any knife.

~
File under: Another book that would’ve ruled if “an actual plotline” would’ve been placed into Google’s search engine.

Heather comes from a family of witches and has frequent, reoccurring nightmares of twin sisters, Pride and Prejudice Prudence and Primrose, who have derived from the 1600s. And usually, people are easier to jump on authors’ books nowadays if their book contains something, even slightly, triggering, but I’ve seen nearly *nothing* on how dangerous Heather’s “habit” was. She carves a Celtic knot into her skin for the lols. And blood is the equivalent of magic. I marked the below quote as a spoiler, just in case. Because truly, this is such a worrying, unsafe read.




“Heather, if you want to get a tattoo, get henna, or use a Sharpie, but why would you cut yourself?”

I glare at him. “It’s my body. I can do whatever I want with it.”
There are dozens of flashbacks from the 1600s intertwined, but I was unable to get over how upsetting Heather’s self-harm portrayal was. She was never shown to be in pain, suffering, or reconsidering her actions. Later, she's drowned in a bathtub by her whole family, so she could experience one minute of the afterlife, and her grandmother sacrifices herself for her. It's all made out to be a joyous affair, which is so weird and uncomfortable and disturbing, and it was blatantly too much to handle.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Review: Antisocial

Jillian Blake - Antisocial Published: May 16, 2017 by Delacorte Press
Genres: Contemporary, Thriller, Romance, Young ADult
Pages: 256
Source: NetGalley
Find on: Amazon, Book Depository, Goodreads
Rating: 2/5

Alexandria Prep is about to be exposed.

Senior spring was supposed to mean sleeping through class and partying with friends. But for Anna Soler, it’s going to be a lonely road. She’s just been dumped by her perfect basketball star boyfriend—with no explanation. Anna’s closest friends, the real ones she abandoned while dating him, are ignoring her. The endearing boy she’s always had a complicated friendship with is almost too sympathetic.

But suddenly Anna isn’t the only one whose life has been upended. Someone is determined to knock the kings and queens of the school off their thrones: one by one, their phones get hacked and their personal messages and photos are leaked. At first it’s funny—people love watching the dirty private lives of those they envy become all too public.

Then the hack…

Blog Tour Review: Christmas In London

Anita Hughes - Christmas In London Published: October 3, 2017 by St. Martin's Griffin
Genres: Adult, Realistic Fiction, Romance
Pages: 288
Source: Publisher
Find on: Amazon, Book Depository, Goodreads
Rating: 4.5/5

A charming, glamourous love story set at Claridge's in London during the magical week before Christmas starring a sweet NYC baker and the Cooking Channel Producer who could change her life.

It’s a week before Christmas and Louisa Graham is working twelve hour shifts at a bakery on Manhattan's Lower East Side. When a young cooking show assistant comes in from the rain and begs to buy all the cinnamon rolls on her tray, she doesn’t know what to do. Louisa is just the baker, and they aren't hers to sell. But the show burned the rolls they were supposed to film that day, so she agrees.

The next morning, Louisa finds out that her cinnamon rolls were a hit, but the star of the show was allergic, and the whole crew is supposed to leave for London that afternoon. They want L…

Review: The Inconceivable Life of Quinn

Marianna Baer - The Inconceivable Life of Quinn Expected publication: April 4, 2017 by Amulet Books
Genres: Contemporary, Magical Realism, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Find on: Amazon, Book Depository, Goodreads
Rating: 2.5/5

Quinn Cutler is sixteen and the daughter of a high-profile Brooklyn politician. She’s also pregnant, a crisis made infinitely more shocking by the fact that she has no memory of ever having sex. Before Quinn can solve this deeply troubling mystery, her story becomes public. Rumors spread, jeopardizing her reputation, her relationship with a boyfriend she adores, and her father’s campaign for Congress. Religious fanatics gather at the Cutlers’ home, believing Quinn is a virgin, pregnant with the next messiah. Quinn’s desperate search for answers uncovers lies and family secrets—strange, possibly supernatural ones. Might she, in fact, be a virgin?