Review: Bad Blood

Demetria Lunetta - Bad Blood
Published: March 17, 2017 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Genres: Fantasy, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 272
Find on: Amazon, Book Depository, Goodreads
Source: NetGalley
Rating: 1.5/5

A girl discovers a family secret and a past full of magic that could both save her and put her in mortal danger in this suspenseful novel that’s perfect for fans of Katie Alender and Natasha Preston.

All sixteen-year-old Heather MacNair wants is to feel normal, to shed the intense paranoia she’s worn all year like a scratchy sweater. After her compulsion to self-harm came to light, Heather was kept under her doctor’s watchful eye. Her family thinks she’s better—and there’s nothing she wants more than for that to be true. She still can’t believe she’s allowed to spend her summer vacation as she always does: at her aunt’s home in Scotland, where she has lots of happy memories. Far away from all her problems save one: she can’t stop carving the Celtic knot that haunts her dreams into her skin.

Good friends and boys with Scottish accents can cure almost anything…except nightmares. Heather can’t stop dreaming about two sisters from centuries ago, twins Prudence and Primrose, who somehow seem tied to her own life. Their presence lurks just beneath the surface of her consciousness, sending ripples through what should be a peaceful summer. The twins might hold the key to putting Heather’s soul at rest…or they could slice her future deeper than any knife.

~
File under: Another book that would’ve ruled if “an actual plotline” would’ve been placed into Google’s search engine.

Heather comes from a family of witches and has frequent, reoccurring nightmares of twin sisters, Pride and Prejudice Prudence and Primrose, who have derived from the 1600s. And usually, people are easier to jump on authors’ books nowadays if their book contains something, even slightly, triggering, but I’ve seen nearly *nothing* on how dangerous Heather’s “habit” was. She carves a Celtic knot into her skin for the lols. And blood is the equivalent of magic. I marked the below quote as a spoiler, just in case. Because truly, this is such a worrying, unsafe read.




“Heather, if you want to get a tattoo, get henna, or use a Sharpie, but why would you cut yourself?”

I glare at him. “It’s my body. I can do whatever I want with it.”
There are dozens of flashbacks from the 1600s intertwined, but I was unable to get over how upsetting Heather’s self-harm portrayal was. She was never shown to be in pain, suffering, or reconsidering her actions. Later, she's drowned in a bathtub by her whole family, so she could experience one minute of the afterlife, and her grandmother sacrifices herself for her. It's all made out to be a joyous affair, which is so weird and uncomfortable and disturbing, and it was blatantly too much to handle.

Comments