Review: 10 Things I Can See From Here

Carrie Mac - 10 Things I Can See From Here
Published: February 28, 2017 by Alfred. A Knopf Books for Young Readers
Genres: Realistic Fiction, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 320
Find on: Amazon, Book Depository, Goodreads
Rating: 2.5/5

Perfect for fans of Finding Audrey and Everything, Everything, this is the poignant and uplifting story of Maeve, who is dealing with anxiety while falling in love with a girl who is not afraid of anything.

Think positive.
Don’t worry; be happy.
Keep calm and carry on.


Maeve has heard it all before. She’s been struggling with severe anxiety for a long time, and as much as she wishes it was something she could just talk herself out of, it’s not. She constantly imagines the worst, composes obituaries in her head, and is always ready for things to fall apart. To add to her troubles, her mom—the only one who really gets what Maeve goes through—is leaving for six months, so Maeve will be sent to live with her dad in Vancouver.

Vancouver brings a slew of new worries, but Maeve finds brief moments of calm (as well as even more worries) with Salix, a local girl who doesn’t seem to worry about anything. Between her dad’s wavering sobriety, her very pregnant stepmom insisting on a home birth, and her bumbling courtship with Salix, this summer brings more catastrophes than even Maeve could have foreseen. Will she be able to navigate through all the chaos to be there for the people she loves?
 
~
Maeve suffers from severe bouts of anxiety, and like most cases, it doesn't poof away on a good day. This book was pitched as Everything, Everything and Audrey Wait! through the premise, but sadly, I don't see the relation to either. After her mother and stepfather jet off to Haiti, she's sent off to live with her father and his very-pregnant wife, Claire, and their young twin boys, all the while she struggles to figure out a way to combat her anxiety independently.

THE LURVES 💖:
-The first chapter in all its entirety.
-A great anxiety rep, courtesy of Maeve. I related extensively to Maeve, including how often she searched the interwebs, I had to place aside my Kindle or close the story altogether for a few minutes.
-Salix owns my heart. If you’ve ever read and/or liked Xander from The Distance Between Us, she’s basically a female version of him, who brings pastries and all. Such a darling human-being.
-The realistic portrayal of a problematic parent.
-Claire, too. I wasn’t too big of a fan of hers, at first, but she grew on me. She dealt with so much: a stepdaughter with severe anxiety, a problematic spouse, and rambunctious twin boys to raise, all the while being pregnant.

THE IFFY BITS 👎:
-The name, Maeve. No offense to any real-life Maeves, but it reminded me of the color. Mauve.
-Maeve’s father and stepfather?! What. Is. Wrong. With. Them. More-so, the mother, but literally, how can you zoom out of the country, knowing your teenage daughter is dealing with a serious case of anxiety and only text for weekly updates? Unreal.
-I related to her anxiety, yes yes yes, but all those eulogies begun freaking me out. #JustMe
-Claire’s first birth scene. No offense to any mothers - hey, we love you - but I was eating while reading and it was spectacularly unpretty and graphic.
-Claire’s second birth scene and her hatred for hospitals. Okay, yeah, home births are a thing, but knowing you're minutes from giving birth and the fact she had a perfect, magical birth in the middle of a parking lot completely boggled me. Get real.
-What was truly wrong with Maeve’s father, honestly? I’m not even asking to be mean. Truly, I was so confused by him. He was obviously dealing with some sort of unidentified, real-life issue and he needed therapy for that, or an AA counselor, but we were given a happy ending.
-Salix was built out to seem more like a…distraction rather than Maeve’s savior, which was just disappointing. The author could've done so much with their relationship and a better way of having Salix accept Maeve's anxiety or helping her work through it. NOT as a rescuer, but more like someone who would understand more easier.

Still, a phenomenal read, nonetheless. Would I recommend it? Ask me in another five years. There are a lot better anxiety reps, however. Stephanie Perkins and Katie Cotugno write it so well, but this is definitely an interesting, hopeful read and especially since I related to it, I hope people will give it a chance.  

Comments