Monday, July 24, 2017

Review: Rules For Stealing Stars

Corey Ann Haydu - Rules For Stealing Stars
Published: September 29, 2015 by Katherine Tegen Books
Genres: Fantasy, Magical Realism, Middle Grade, Realistic Fiction
Pages: 336
Source: Brought that ish 👀
Find on: Amazon, Book Depository, Goodreads
Rating: 3.5/5

In the tradition of Sharon Creech and Wendy Mass, Corey Ann Haydu's sparkling middle grade debut is a sister story with a twist of magic, a swirl of darkness, and a whole lot of hope.

Silly is used to feeling left out. Her three older sisters think she's too little for most things—especially when it comes to dealing with their mother's unpredictable moods and outbursts. This summer, Silly feels more alone than ever when her sisters keep whispering and sneaking away to their rooms together, returning with signs that something mysterious is afoot: sporting sunburned cheeks smudged with glitter and gold hair that looks like tinsel.

When Silly is brought into her sisters' world, the truth is more exciting than she ever imagined. The sisters have discovered a magical place that gives them what they truly need: an escape from the complications of their home life. But there are dark truths there, too. Silly hopes the magic will be the secret to saving their family, but she's soon forced to wonder if it could tear them apart.

Wednesday, July 12, 2017

Review: Shuffle, Repeat

Jen Klein - Shuffle, Repeat
Published: May 3, 2016 by Random House Books for Young Readers
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 327
Source: Bought that ish 👀
Find on: Amazon, Book Depository, Goodreads
Rating: 2.5/5


When Harry Met Sally for YA romance readers. This opposites-attract love story is perfect for fans of Huntley Fitzpatrick, Stephanie Perkins, and Jenny Han.
 
June wants high school to end and real life to begin. Oliver is soaking up senior year’s glory days. They could have coasted through high school, knowing about—but not really knowing—each other.

Except that their moms have arranged for Oliver to drive June to school. Every. Single. Day.

Suddenly these two opposites are fighting about music, life . . . pretty much everything. But love is unpredictable. When promises—and hearts—get broken, Oliver and June must figure out what really matters. And then fight for it.