Review: Shuffle, Repeat

Jen Klein - Shuffle, Repeat
Published: May 3, 2016 by Random House Books for Young Readers
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 327
Source: Bought that ish đź‘€
Find on: Amazon, Book Depository, Goodreads
Rating: 2.5/5


When Harry Met Sally for YA romance readers. This opposites-attract love story is perfect for fans of Huntley Fitzpatrick, Stephanie Perkins, and Jenny Han.
 
June wants high school to end and real life to begin. Oliver is soaking up senior year’s glory days. They could have coasted through high school, knowing about—but not really knowing—each other.

Except that their moms have arranged for Oliver to drive June to school. Every. Single. Day.

Suddenly these two opposites are fighting about music, life . . . pretty much everything. But love is unpredictable. When promises—and hearts—get broken, Oliver and June must figure out what really matters. And then fight for it.

~
"You're ten minutes early," I tell Oliver. Just because our moms are BFFs doesn't mean we have to be.

"You were ready," he says mildly. "Waiting outside and all, dressed up for the first day of school."

Since I'm in one of my standard outfits - jeans, Chucks, a black tank layered over a white one - I know he's being facetious. I also know he probably doesn't comprehend the word facetious.


Cool it, June. You ain't cute. Also, I have no clue what "facetious" means, and I have no plans on placing it in the overused Google search engine.

I literally just brought a copy of this. Planning on returning it, though. Not because I didn’t like it. (Well, partially.) It was horrifically damaged. Water damage. Torn jacket. A dagger through my blogger heart, but yeah, and that's not the only reason.

June and Olivier are far from best friends, but their moms, who are BFFs, have made an arrangement for Oliver to drive June to school, so they’re forced to banter over playlists and their projective romances until they realize the mutual similarities (i.e. each other, weirdly enough.)

Oliver winks one of his brown bedroom eyes at me. "Isn't life a series of grand eye-opening revelations?"

Huh. A jock with a vocabulary.

A jockcabulary, if you will.
The takeaway point from this novel is June. She is so judgmental. Literally, girl, you’re named after a summer month and your boyfriend is named ITCH. Who are you to judge anyone? It contains low-level, super-subtle form of cheating. June breaks up with her boyfriend because he lacks the human compartment of jealousy, and Oliver is a cereal-box jock, who has broken free of the stereotypical mold, has a girlfriend, likes old music, good heart, great friends, a boy who may cause semi-swoons, but of course, June doesn't care until feelings occur.

This book is the reason couples become suspicious of their partners having friends of the opposite-sex. Olivier and June drove to school, every day, but June fantasized endlessly about him. The entire time, really. And her vocabulary, really? Her lexicon was the equivalent of someone with an affinity for watching only Netflix documentaries. She used a few big words and fancied herself a wordsmith. Sit. Down.

I preferred Oliver with Ainsley. AKA: his actual girlfriend. She seemed so, so nice. Klein did a slick twist, ala Something Borrowed, just to make Ainsley seem like the asshat. At THAT, she and Oliver remained friends.

This book is so so funny, despite the atomically unrealistic portion of its storyline, considering how shitty June was to, um, everyone - okay, listen, sarcasm doesn't apply when she never turns off the Hate'O'Meter - I'd love to see a book, where a pair of best friends haven't been in luuurve with each other since their childhood years, and despite this romantical minor offense, they still wanna be friends if one confesses their feelings and the other doesn't reciprocate that love.
"What's the inside of his car like?" Darb asks. "Is it filled with cheerleaders and beer cans?"

"Totally," I tell her. "The cheerleaders are stacked in the backseat and I have to rest my feet on a keg." (...)
Oliver makes the book, honestly. He’s such a sweetheart. He literally apologizes after punching another guy. If your heart hasn’t grown wings and taken flight for this sweet soul, ya loss. This book isn’t suuuuuper music-heavy either, which is another giant literary bummer, but more-so, my preference. There *is* a playlist at the end, but if you want a great YA with the greatest music recs, Audrey, Wait! would be my suggestion. If you love words so much, June, buy yourself a Webster Dictionary. Stop spreading your hatred across the globe, kthnx.

Comments