Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts from September, 2017

Review: Risking It All

Nina Darnton - Risking It All Published: September 19, 2017 by St. Martin's Griffin
Genres: Adult, Romance, Realistic Fiction
Pages: 400
Source: Publisher
Find on: Amazon, Book Depository, Goodreads
Rating: 2.5/5

In the tradition of Lisa Scottoline and Jodi Picoult comes a novel from critically-acclaimed author Nina Darnton about a woman who'll go to any lengths to become a mother.

When Marcia, a driven, successful editor in New York with a loving husband, finds she can't conceive a child, it rips the heart out of her seemingly-perfect life. Her desire to be a mother has become her obsession, and after trying and failing to become pregnant by every known method, she focuses all of her energy on her one remaining option: surrogacy. Her husband resists, and tries to convince her that they can be happy without a child; but faced with her unyielding determination, he relents, and reluctantly goes along with the idea. Everything looks good...until an unexpected tragedy occurs that chan…

Review: The Stars Beneath Our Feet

David Barclay Moore - The Stars Beneath Our Feet Published: September 19, 2017 by Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
Genres: Middle Grade, Realistic Fiction
Pages: 304
Source: NetGalley
Find on: Amazon, Book Depository, Goodreads
Rating: 3.5/5

A boy tries to steer a safe path through the projects in Harlem in the wake of his brother's death.
It's Christmas Eve in Harlem, but twelve-year-old Lolly Rachpaul and his mom aren't celebrating. They're still reeling from his older brother's death in a gang-related shooting just a few months earlier. Then Lolly's mother's girlfriend brings him a gift that will change everything: two enormous bags filled with Legos. Lolly's always loved Legos, and he prides himself on following the kit instructions exactly. Now, faced with a pile of building blocks and no instructions, Lolly must find his own way forward. 

 His path isn't clear--and the pressure to join a "crew," as his brother did, is always there. W…

Review: Water In May

Ismée Amiel Williams -Water In May Isilliams Expected publication: September 12, 2017 by Amulet Books
Genres: Realistic Fiction, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 320
Source: NetGalley
Find on: Amazon, Book Depository, Goodreads
Rating: 3.5/5

Fifteen-year-old Mari Pujols believes that the baby she’s carrying will finally mean she’ll have a family member who will love her deeply and won’t ever leave her—not like her mama, who took off when she was eight; or her papi, who’s in jail; or her abuela, who wants as little to do with her as possible. But when doctors discover a potentially fatal heart defect in the fetus, Mari faces choices she never could have imagined.

Surrounded by her loyal girl crew, her off-and-on boyfriend, and a dedicated doctor, Mari navigates a decision that could emotionally cripple the bravest of women. But both Mari and the broken-hearted baby inside her are fighters; and it doesn’t take long to discover that this sick baby has the strength to heal an entire family.

Inspired …

Blog Tour: I Hate Everyone But You