Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts from September, 2017

Review: Risking It All

Nina Darnton - Risking It All Published : September 19, 2017 by St. Martin's Griffin Genres : Adult, Romance, Realistic Fiction Pages : 400 Source : Publisher Find on : Amazon , Book Depository , Goodreads Rating : 2.5/5 In the tradition of Lisa Scottoline and Jodi Picoult comes a novel from critically-acclaimed author Nina Darnton about a woman who'll go to any lengths to become a mother. When Marcia, a driven, successful editor in New York with a loving husband, finds she can't conceive a child, it rips the heart out of her seemingly-perfect life. Her desire to be a mother has become her obsession, and after trying and failing to become pregnant by every known method, she focuses all of her energy on her one remaining option: surrogacy. Her husband resists, and tries to convince her that they can be happy without a child; but faced with her unyielding determination, he relents, and reluctantly goes along with the idea. Everything looks good...until an unexpecte

Review: The Stars Beneath Our Feet

David Barclay Moore - The Stars Beneath Our Feet Published : September 19, 2017 by Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers Genres : Middle Grade, Realistic Fiction Pages : 304 Source : NetGalley Find on : Amazon , Book Depository , Goodreads Rating : 3.5/5 A boy tries to steer a safe path through the projects in Harlem in the wake of his brother's death. It's Christmas Eve in Harlem, but twelve-year-old Lolly Rachpaul and his mom aren't celebrating. They're still reeling from his older brother's death in a gang-related shooting just a few months earlier. Then Lolly's mother's girlfriend brings him a gift that will change everything: two enormous bags filled with Legos. Lolly's always loved Legos, and he prides himself on following the kit instructions exactly. Now, faced with a pile of building blocks and no instructions, Lolly must find his own way forward.   His path isn't clear--and the pressure to join a "crew," as his bro

Blog Tour: I Hate Everyone But You